Progress Thursday.

Hi Everyone,

I know, I missed monday.   I was away for the long weekend, enjoying the last of the summer.  Therefore, there was no progress for a Progress Monday!

However, now I have finished the centre!

2014-08-27 07.53.56

I am so glad I had already done the ditching Carla!  I thought of you as I got near the end and I realized I would struggle to ditch a quilt at the end, as once I can see the whole look of it, I would hate to go back and do some final hidden stitching!  So, I take my hat off to you.

The free motion quilting stage took me 22 and a 1/4 hours.   I am also on my 20th bobbin.  That is two pots of 9 and I’m on my third pot of pre wounds.  I wish I knew how to work out how much top thread I am using.

As much as I like using blue washaway pens to mark my quilts, I do find that they still leave blue marks behind.  I remove the marks as I go, but little bits remain!

2014-08-18 09.38.10

 

So now, on to the border area.  I don’t want to feel that I end up rushing this bit, or that it feels like a bit of an after thought.  So I decided to include some ruler work in the first white border.  ( because of course, i have not yet done enough ruler work!)  I decided to use the same diamond stencil but only use half of it to create a border of triangles.  I worked my way in from both corners into the middle and then altered the layout slightly in the middle and at the corners.

2014-08-27 12.33.07

 

I created an inner triangle also, initially with a plan to do some curved cross hatching in the centres.  Well that idea lasted all of two tiny very short attempts in a corner for me to realise that that wasn’t going to work! – both because of the look and more importantly because I had never done it before and it would be to hard to execute in that space for the first time.  Instead, I settled on a continuous line design that I had already used in the centre of my quilt.

2014-08-27 15.12.44

 

The outside border I kept simple with swirls and this one was fun.  hard to believe, but this was the first time I had ever done an all over swirl on this amount of fabric!

In the triangle right in the centre, I decided to do some straight line quilting, to create a fan shape.  I hate it!

2014-08-29 09.02.26

 

I stitched the lines a quarter of an inch apart and it is too much.  It is not perfect at the top where all the lines meet.  So for the bottom border I stitched them a half inch apart and this I like better!

2014-08-29 09.03.04

 

Sadly though, I can already feel myself beginning to struggle.  I can now see the whole quilt and I have already started moving on in my head. I am already onto the next project ( my radiance quilt design!)  I know that I am going to feel again that feeling of completely finishing a quilt and just thinking ‘ okay.  Next!’

Does anyone else experience that feeling?  It is almost a bit sad.  I feel like I should feel elated and thrilled, but somehow, I end up feeling simply like I am ready to move on.  Somehow, in the process of working on all the skills I want to work on, I end up not feeling proud of those skills, but instead just accepting that I have gained them and now I want to gain something else!

I have now completed the top and bottom borders and so have taken the quilt off the frame in order to turn it to do the side borders.  Annoyingly though, now I cannot get the damn thing back onto the leader grips.  My hands seem to be refusing to produce enough strength to push the quilt onto the snapper poles ( can’t remember the name of them!)  So I have dumped it over my frame and left the room in a huff!  This is one of those times I need to go back to it at a later stage and begin afresh, either that or it will forever remain almost but not quite finished!

2014-08-27 15.12.49

 

2014-08-29 07.50.55

2014-08-29 07.53.55One more thing, before I leave this for today, Does anyone think I should do a light quilting design in the patchwork squares?  I am inclined to leave them, although originally I was going to quilt them.  let me know what you think? Love Suzy

 

20 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rosemary
    Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:36:13

    As you have the glorious colour in the centres I would tend to leave them plain so as not to distract from the magnificent quilting you have already done on the sashing. Fantastic work hope you put this in the Festival of Quilts next year. Best I have seen on my travels by a long margin, you are so patient and talented to have done all this. Thanks for letting us see it.

    Reply

    • quiltinghappy
      Aug 29, 2014 @ 21:17:40

      Hi Rosemary, thank you for your lovely comment. I hadn’t even considered the festival of quilts to be honest, bit it would be great to have a quilt in it! And trust me, I wasn’t so patient this morning when I was trying to get the quilt back on the machine! Love Suzy

      Reply

  2. Vee Jenkins
    Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:09:23

    I think your gut feeling is right, leave the squares, so your eye can take in the fantastic quilting. Wonderful job Susie love it.
    Although finishing a quilt is rather like finishing a good book, kind of hard to let go……… finish it and move on!!!!

    Reply

    • quiltinghappy
      Aug 29, 2014 @ 21:15:15

      Hi Vee, thanks lovely for your comment. Yup the squares are staying as they are!
      I promise to finish it very soon as soon as I can get it back on the frame! Love Suzy

      Reply

  3. Jill Coleman
    Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:50:06

    I would leave the blocks alone, I like the effect that you made them pop, I’m afraid if you start quilting the small blocks the borders will then look unfinished and you’ll end up wanting to quilt them too. Thanks for sharing your experience with us.

    Reply

    • quiltinghappy
      Aug 29, 2014 @ 21:12:40

      Hi Jill, thanks for your comment. I am so glad everyone this the same, that the squares should be left. I hadn’t considered them in context of the borders though and yes you are right, it would change the effect of them also and I really like the feel of all those sections all soft and squishy against the lovely texture of the quilting. Love Suzy

      Reply

  4. lis collison
    Aug 29, 2014 @ 14:09:56

    So glad you’ve had time out with your family and your lovely man! I would say do not quilt the squares There is such a thing as guilding the lily and less is definitely more in this case!

    Reply

  5. Ellen Heath
    Aug 29, 2014 @ 15:47:08

    I so agree with Lis. This lily is perfectly beautiful as is. (I’ve just discovered your blog, and I’m so inspired! I have a much less inspiring new blog called The Tortoise and the Quilt – for obvious reasons – at http://tortoiseandthequilt.blogspot.com/)

    Reply

    • quiltinghappy
      Aug 29, 2014 @ 21:09:43

      Hi Ellen, thank you for your comment. I have just popped over to your blog and I will happily join it if you add a section on it for people to do so. I know exactly how hard this journey is and how horrible that machine can be. Personally though, I think you should stop calling her big momma and rename her something like little mouse or pipsqueak! Help you get back your power! I like your Christmas wall hanging, and I wouldn’t have noticed it was wonky! Keep it touch and let me know re following your blog! Love Suzy

      Reply

  6. Annie
    Aug 29, 2014 @ 17:44:34

    Your lovely work takes my breath away. I’ve had a longarm for about a year now and I can’t even imagine getting to the point where I could do something this wonderful! Your photos are amazing, too. They make me feel as if I could reach out and touch your quilt. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

    • quiltinghappy
      Aug 29, 2014 @ 20:56:15

      Hi Annie, thanks for your lovely message. It’s a tough old learning curve isn’t it having a longarm! Trust me, mine sat mocking me for months like a giant albatross, unused! Do you quilt for customers? Or for yourself? I am glad to be able to share this process with you aaa I couldn’t find this kind of stuff anywhere so I figured I would do it myself. Keep in touch and I would love to see your stuff. Love Suzy

      Reply

  7. lnuge318
    Aug 30, 2014 @ 01:18:23

    This quilt is spectacular, I think you should leave the patches it’s a good geo contrast. Awesome.

    Reply

  8. Doris Claude
    Aug 30, 2014 @ 01:23:16

    Suzy, your quilting is just gorgeous. I don’t know why you are turning it to do the side sashing, but if it works for you…. the grippers are called ” Red Snappers”.
    I hope to one day be able to quilt as well as you. 🙂

    Reply

    • quiltinghappy
      Aug 30, 2014 @ 07:41:10

      Hi Doris, thank you for your comment. I know I don’t have to turn it but I felt it would be easier to mark all the triangles that way and also I fancied quilting the swirls in one long run instead of having to roll it on! I’ve turned this quilt already before and could put the red snappers on then, but now my hands seem to have gone ridiculously weak! Today I will try again or get my husband to do it! Love Suzy

      Reply

  9. Carla
    Aug 30, 2014 @ 20:05:20

    Hi Suzy, fabulous job! You are doing a great job! I do think you should enter this quilt in several shows.

    For your question about quilting the blank blocks, the answer will depend on several factors. How will this quilt be used? What kind of batting are you using and what brands? How big are the empty spaces? There could be several technical reasons why you might want to quilt a simple geometric design in the center of each square- even something as simple as a double line square.

    As for the blue pen, save that for wholecloth quilts. Instead, I would like you to try a purple fabric erasable pen by Marvy. Here is the link: http://www.markersupply.com/maerfama.html#.VAIfUWOBUTI
    I have used the purple marker (not the pink) for about 8 years now. It is only for temporary applications and yes, it will come out of the fabric. Because you used the blue pen, my recommendation is you soak it in your tub in cold water for 10 minutes, then block the quilt. Write if you would like directions for how and why you do this. Anyway, wonderful quilting!!!

    Reply

    • quiltinghappy
      Aug 30, 2014 @ 20:55:25

      Hi Carla, thank you for your fab detailed comment. I had initially planned to lightly quilt the squares with a very simple geometric design. However at the mo I love the feel of it against the density of the quilting. The quilt will be living in a bed so it is really about whether it will go saggy I guess isn’t it! There is a layer of 80-20 and a layer of wool. Can’t remember which makes though. The squares are 4″. If it was hanging in a display do you think it would sag then?
      Thanks for the advice re the purple pens. I will be happy to try them and will order one. Why save the blue pens for a wholecloth though? Is it simply because they will remain until washed or some other reason? I’ve never actually blocked a quilt mainly because I don’t have anywhere where I can lay a quilt down flat for a few days! My last quilt, the one that won in the show, I shoved in the washing machine as soon as I pulled it off the machine and them held my breath for an hour!
      Phew, bet you wish you hadn’t commented to me now, now I have all these other questions! Take care. Love Suzy

      Reply

  10. tenngram
    Sep 03, 2014 @ 14:01:18

    Suzy, listen to Carla about both adding quilting, and the markers. She knows her stuff! 🙂
    Margo

    Reply

    • quiltinghappy
      Sep 03, 2014 @ 14:53:14

      Hi, I know! Carla is fab! And I have a feeling she is right about the quilting of the squares. My original plan was to quilt them aswell but then I really liked the texture if they were left, but having now just washed the quilt they seem a bit too puffy to me! Iay put it back on the machine one day or more likely I won’t, as I love the way each quilt gives you more of a learning experience each time! Love Suzy

      Reply

Leave a comment

About quiltedhappiness

My name is Suzy.

August 2012

The Emotional Cripple

for anyone who feels

Discover WordPress

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.